Fumée 4b20

1 100 

Technique: carbon deposit on paper
Dimension: 12,2 x 9,4 inch

It was the sooty deposit left by a flame that was to give “body” to what Etienne Gros calls his “smoke drawings”.

He uses the flame of a candle or a paraffin lamp to trace unpredictable, delicate, soft lines of immense fragility on sheets of white paper.
No brushes, pencils, or any other of the artist’s usual tools are involved. Etienne draws with whorls of smoke, letting himself be bewitched by the random patterns traced by the smoke. Sometimes the result is pure magic, sometimes not.
He calls on the fire in his studio to free genies from lamps, like Aladdin, while taking us far, far back in time, to the dawn of mankind.

A work proposed by Gallery 22
Work sold with certificate of authenticity

 la Free delivery for France, delivery within 7 days on average.

Category:

I’ve never seen that before.
This work by Etienne Gros is unique. I don’t know if he invented the technique but in any case he found here a magical way to draw with smoke. Wonderful! Suddenly the lines of traditional drawing faded away, there were no longer the boundaries of the line of lead, charcoal, sanguine, pastel, or pencil encircling the shapes, but everything became volume, a play of light and shadow. Like a genie that came out of Aladdin’s lamp, like a genie (often female) that slipped through Etienne’s fingers to take shape between the volutes of smoke. And the invisible became visible.
And on the white sheet of paper came to rest without effort or violence, round forms, living forms, senseless forms of an incredible truth. Drawings at once precious and subtle, as if born of an inner alchemy in which air currents and dust mingle, drawings as light as eroticism and as strong as the quest for an elusive beauty, drawings of voluntary particles in particular particles, Drawings deposited on paper fibres like sighs filled with waves, or like frequencies in harmony beyond the spectrum, Etienne Gros’ smoke drawings also take us back to the birth of Humanity, when the fires of the first men left an indelible trace of the fire of their lives, on the walls of the caves in which they had stayed.
The great delicacy of the variations of grey placed on the sheet is also, beyond the technique, the symbol of Art as a whole that exists in transcendence. Etienne Gros’ smoke drawings are full of poetry and meaning at the same time, because what is simple is often essential. Drawing with smoke, what a magical idea!
CharlElie
New York, March 2007

Works by the same artist

Dimensions 24 × 31 cm

Fumée 4b20

1 100 

Technique : dépôt de carbone sur papier
Dimension : 31 x 24 cm
C’est le dépôt de carbone d’une flamme qui va donner «corps» à ce qu’Etienne Gros a nommé «les fumées».
Il peut se servir de la flamme d’une bougie ou d’une lampe à pétrole. De façon imprévisible, avec une extrême légèreté et douceur mais aussi une grande fragilité, va se déposer des formes sur la feuille de papier blanc.
Sans pinceau, ni crayon, ni rien d’autre qui pourrait s’apparenter aux accessoires du peintre n’est utilisé. Il dessine avec les volutes de fumée et se laisse émerveiller par l’aléatoire que la flamme lui propose.
Comme Aladin, il libère les génies de ses lampes et nous emmène loin, bien plus loin, dans un monde ancestral.

Vidéo sur la technique des “ Fumées “

Une œuvre proposée par la Galerie 22
Œuvre vendue avec certificat d’authenticité

la Livraison offerte pour la France, délai sous 7 jours en moyenne.

Catégorie :

| Artiste : Etienne GROS

Je n’avais jamais vu ça.
Ce travail d’Etienne Gros est unique. Je ne sais pas s’il a inventé la technique mais en tout cas il a trouvé là une manière magique de dessiner avec la fumée. Magnifique ! Soudain les lignes du dessin traditionnel s’effaçaient, il n’y avait plus les délimitations du trait de la mine de plomb, du fusain, sanguine, pastel, ou crayon cernant les formes, mais tout devenait volumes, jeux d’ombres et de lumières. Comme un génie sorti de la lampe d’Aladin, comme un génie (souvent féminin) venu se glisser entre les doigts d’Etienne pour prendre corps entre les volutes de fumée. Et l’invisible devenait visible.
Et sur la feuille blanche venaient se poser sans effort ni violence, des formes rondes, des formes vivantes, des formes insensées d’une incroyable vérité. Dessins à la fois précieux et subtils, comme nés d’une alchimie intérieure dans laquelle viennent se mêler courants d’air et poussières, dessins à la fois légers comme l’érotisme et forts comme la quête d’une beauté insaisissable, dessins de particules volontaires en particules particulières, dessins déposés sur les fibres de papier comme des soupirs remplis d’ondes, ou comme des fréquences en harmonie au-delà du spectre, les dessins de fumée d’Etienne Gros nous ramènent aussi à la naissance de l’Humanité, quand les feux des premiers hommes laissèrent la trace indélébile du feu de leurs vies, sur les parois des grottes dans lesquelles ils avaient séjourné.
La grande finesse des variations de gris posées sur la feuille, c’est aussi, au-delà de la technique, le symbole de l’Art dans son ensemble qui existe en transcendance. Les dessins de fumée d’Etienne Gros sont à la fois remplis de poésie et de sens, parce que ce qui est simple est souvent essentiel. Dessiner avec la fumée, quelle idée magique !
CharlElie
New York, mars 2007

Oeuvres du même artiste

Dimensions 24 × 31 cm